INSO – Industrial Software

Research focus of INSO

The inter-university research group Industrial Software (INSO) deals with the planning, architecture, construction, operation, and maintenance and evolution of (software) systems in the large, real IT environment. The methodological and empirical focus points are quite "conventional": it is about appropriately required technologies and architectures, about the structure of relevantly effective projects, suitable or unsuitable processes, effective or unsuitable products, and the necessary and capable people and delivery resources (experts, suitable teams, engineering & research) for a successful implementation, i.e. enforcement of an excellent solution.

INSO is science & research of building very complex, very large IT systems. These include: global platforms, whole-of-government systems, overarching mobility solutions, whole-of-government infrastructures, highly secure or high-performance systems. As an "Engineering Science Group", the empiricism of concrete construction is the methodological primacy in INSO.

Aristotle: "The whole is more than the sum of its parts":

Classical scientific approaches push "research in depth" and thus detailed disciplines as their primacy. The think tank community of INSO is naturally concerned with all innovations and proposals from the refinement of the associated scientific subdisciplines; at the same time, a very high (engineering) scientific, methodical impetus is appropriate to that sphere, which is dedicated to the concretely required elements, building blocks and procedures of the overall integration towards a functioning overall IT system in the large real environment.

These have to be identified, marked, made visible and documented. They are definitely to be found in technical and very technology-related tasks and problems and are not - as a widespread assumption criticizes - simply to be located as an abstract-general "waste product" of stakeholder topics such as budgets, resources, program management, project policy, project risk management and promoter handling. The esprit of INSOlanians is devoted to these often hidden mechanisms of the overall system, with active respect and natural exchange with the scientific mainstream.

Empiricism of End-to-End-Engineering (EEE):

INSO can, understands and dedicates itself to this among other things particularly the methods, problem circles and experiences around the topic EEE. In this context, weighing and weighting, i.e., the concrete assessment of procedures, methods, resources and specialists, plays an important, dominant methodological role. Even more so than the spontaneous, situational "McGyversian" invention.

Large IT projects always contain a very large amount of research and development that goes beyond conventional implementation, not least because of the uncertainty, volatility and ambiguity of the "right recipe". Empirical evidence in the field shows that for IT innovation investments of €50 million or more, a rate of 60% coverage of the subsequent implementation reality with the original planning in the actual implementation of a large-scale project is more of a positive stroke of luck than a reliable method. In practice, a poorly understood in-house IT brownfield or a currently critical mix of new technologies (e.g., IoT with AI) is enough to lead much smaller budget sizes of €5-10 million and 500 person-months far past the target and plan. Appropriate, experienced, engineering-driven EEE is the most important, non-trivial engineering solution method to "tame" IT innovation in this aspect.

3 classes of research groups

End-to-end engineering has three major pillars in information and software engineering at large, derived from the IT experience of the last 40 years, which INSO tries to map through its groups:

  • the technical pillar, if the "potentially in its complexity underestimated project and technology adventure" cannot be implemented via conventional technologies and their simple and natural "blending", but requires new, possibly transverse mixtures or even new technologies
  • the domain pillar, if the "potentially in its complexity underestimated project and technology adventure" cannot be "tamed" via good technologies and smart procedures and processes alone, i.e. if a comprehensive technical immersion and high domain knowledge should enter into a sensitive and intensive alloy with modern information technology, so that the system goal, the arrival in the Far Island (a great, useful solution) can also be achieved.
  • the methodological dual pillar, if for the achievement of the goal two disciplines interact due to digitization needs, which methodologically "tick" very differently and therefore "speak different languages". In such a case of cooperation between information technology and more anthropocentric or not always scientific disciplines (e.g., art, psychology, medicine, design), which should nevertheless result in a complex IT system, INSO falls back on the tradition of action of the Weimar BAUHAUS (joint workshop as a method) and has already had positive experience with its implementation.

Commandment of intellectual humility

In this way of thinking and with this paradigm, exciting detailed research groups can be found in INSO, which are aware of the overriding scientific goal and nevertheless "modestly" first conduct conventional research and science, in order to finally obtain the essence as the "spice of knowledge" at the long end of the research work. To work out that little extra that comes from reversing the classical path of knowledge from the laboratory to the field: INSO groups should be more interested than other groups in information technology research in what is going on in the large, real environment (in the EEE), what deviates from the expectation of the top-down and thus yields different insights than those directly attainable on the mainstream science path. Naturally, the mainstream is always also duty and basis, i.e. the everyday partner, measurement and interaction place.

Does INSO achieve this claim always, in every group, at every time? No! This also depends on cycles, topics, people and scientific fortune. INSO operates two classes of research groups. Those whose empiricism is strongly in information technology (the technical pillar) and those whose empiricism is in the application and domain (the domain pillar). We are always looking forward to the scientific-theoretical discourse on whether our experiences with "technological blending" or "subject-technical alloys" are methodologically authentic and useful, and we are gladly available for an exchange in epistemology.

Background, history, future

the INSO research group was founded by Professor Grechenig in 2004 and grew out of a research group at TU Wien called RISE, whose activities date back to the 1990s. Today, RISE is an independent, successful digital technology manufacturer and innovator on the European and global market, which has supported the INSO research group economically since its founding, thus giving it a continuity that will extend beyond the personal activities of the founder. INSO sees itself as a driver of Europe's digital independence, which naturally builds on global cutting-edge research and is capable of producing globally leading digital technology.

INSO – Industrial Software

Forschungsgegenstand der INSO

Die universitätsübergreifend tätige Forschungsgruppe Industrial Software (INSO) befasst sich mit der Planung, der Architektur, dem Bau, dem Betrieb und der Wartung und Evolution von (Software-) Systemen im großen, realen IT-Umfeld. Die methodischen und empirischen Fokuspunkte sind durchaus „konventionell“: es geht dabei um angemessen erforderliche Technologien und Architekturen, um die Struktur von einschlägig wirksamen Projekten, taugliche bzw. nicht-taugliche Prozesse, wirksame bzw. ungeeignete Produkte und die für eine erfolgreiche Umsetzungen, d.h. Durchsetzung einer ausgezeichneten Lösung, notwendigen und fähigen Personen und Delivery-Ressourcen (Expertinnen und Experten, geeignete Teams, Engineering & Research).

INSO ist Wissenschaft & Forschung vom Bau sehr komplexer, sehr großer IT-Systeme. Dazu zählen u.a.: globale Plattformen, gesamtstaatliche Government-Systeme, übergreifende Mobilitäts-Lösungen, gesamtstaatliche Infrastrukturen, hochsichere bzw. hochperformante Gesamtsysteme. Als „Engineering Science Gruppe“ gilt in der INSO die Empirie des konkreten Baus das methodisches Primat.

Aristoteles: „Das Ganze ist mehr als die Summe seiner Teile“

Klassische wissenschaftliche Herangehensweisen forcieren als Primat die „Forschung in die Tiefe“ und damit Detail-disziplinen. Die Think Tank Gemeinschaft der INSO befasst sich natürlich mit allen Neuerungen und Vorschlägen aus der Verfeinerung der zugehörigen wissenschaftlichen Teilgebiete, gleichzeitig wird ein sehr hoher (ingenieur-)wissenschaftlicher, methodischer Impetus jener Sphäre angemessen, die sich um die konkret erforderlichen Elemente, Bau-steine und Verfahren der Gesamtintegration hin zu einem funktionierenden IT-Gesamt-system im großen realen Umfeld widmet.

Diese gilt es zu identifizieren, markieren, sichtbar machen und dokumentieren. Sie liegen durchaus in technischen und sehr techniknahen Aufgaben- und Problemkreisen und sind nicht – wie eine verbreitete Annahme moniert – einfach nur als abstrakt-generisches „Abfallprodukt“ von Stake-Holder-Themen wie Budgets, Ressourcen, Programmmanagement, Projektpolitik, Projektrisikomanagement und Promotorenhandhabung zu verorten. Der Esprit der INSOlaner widmet sich diesen oft verdeckten Mechanismen des Gesamtsystems, bei aktivem Respekt und selbstverständlichem Austausch mit dem wissenschaftlichen Mainstream.

Empirie des Ende-zu-Ende-Engineering (EEE)

INSO kann, versteht und widmet sich dazu unter anderem besonders den Methoden, Problemkreisen und Erfahrungen um das Thema EEE. Dabei spielt Abwägen und Gewichten, d.h. das konkrete Anmessen von Verfahren, Methoden, Ressourcen und Spezialisten eine wichtige, dominante methodische Rolle. Mehr noch als die spontane, situative „McGyversche“ Erfindung.

Große IT-Projekte enthalten nicht zuletzt aufgrund der Unsicherheit, Volatilität und Unklarheit der „richtigen Rezeptur“ immer auch ein sehr großes Stück an Forschung- und Entwicklung, die über die konventionelle Umsetzung hinausreicht. Die Empirie im Feld zeigt, dass bei IT-Innovations-Investitionen ab der Größenordnung von 50 Mio. € eine Quote von 60% Deckung der späteren Umsetzungsrealität mit der ursprünglichen Planung bei der konkreten Durchführung eines Großprojektes eher ein positiver Glücksfall als verlässliche Methode ist. Es genügt in der Praxis schon ein Inhouse schlecht verstandenes IT-Brownfield oder ein aktuell kritischer Mix an neuen Technologien (z.B. IoT mit AI), um viel kleinere Budgetgrößen von 5 - 10 Mio. € und 500 Personenmonaten an Ziel und Plan weit vorbeizuführen. Angemessenes, erfahrenes, ingenieurgetriebenes EEE ist die wichtigste, nicht trivial her- und bereitstellbare Ingenieur-Lösungsmethode, um IT-Innovation in diesem Aspekt zu „zähmen“.

3 Klassen an Forschungsgruppen

Ende-zu-Ende Engineering hat in der Informations- und Softwaretechnik im Großen aus der IT-Erfahrung der letzten 40 Jahre drei große Säulen, die INSO über seine Gruppen abbildet:

  • die technische Säule, falls das „potentiell in seiner Komplexität unterschätze Projekt- und Technologie-Abenteuer“ nicht über konventionelle Technologien und deren einfaches und natürliches „Blending“ umsetzbar ist, sondern neue, eventuell quer-liegende Mixturen oder gar neue Technologien erfordert
  • die fachliche Säule, falls das „potentiell in seiner Komplexität unterschätze Projekt- und Technologie-Abenteuer“ nicht über gute Technologien und schlaue Verfahren und Prozesse alleine „zähmbar“ ist, d.h. wenn eine umfassende fachliche Vertiefung und hohes Domänenwissen eine sensitive und intensive Legierung mit moderner Informationstechnik eingehen sollte, damit das System-Ziel, die Ankunft in der Fernen Insel (eine tolle, nützliche Lösung) auch erreicht werden kann.
  • die methodisch duale Säule, falls zur Zielerreichung zwei Disziplinen aufgrund von Digitalisierungsbedarf interagieren, die methodisch sehr unterschiedlich „ticken“ und daher „unterschiedliche Sprachen sprechen“. So ein Fall der Kooperation der Infor-mationstechnik mit anthropozentrischeren oder nicht immer naturwissenschaftlichen Disziplinen (z.B. Kunst, Psychologie, Medizin, Design), die trotzdem in ein komplexes IT-System münden soll, greift INSO auf die Handlungstradition des Weimares BAUHAUS (gemeinsame Werkstatt als Methode) zurück und hat damit auch durchaus schon einschlägig positive Erfahrungen in der Umsetzung gemacht.

Gebot der intellektuellen Demut

In dieser Denkweise und mit diesem Paradigma ausgestaltet finden sich in der INSO spannende Detailforschungsgruppen, die sich des übergeordneten Wissenschaftszieles bewusst sind und trotzdem „bescheiden“ zuerst konventionelle Forschung und Wissenschaft betreiben, um schließlich am langen Ende der Forschungsarbeit die Essenz als „Würze der Erkenntnis“ zu erlangen. Jenes kleine Extra herausarbeiten, das sich aus der Umkehrung des klassischen Erkenntnisweges vom Labor ins Feld ergibt: INSO Gruppen sollte mehr als andere Gruppen der Forschung in der Informationstechnik interessieren, was sich im großen, realen Umfeld (im EEE) umtut, was abweicht von der Erwartung des Top-Down und somit andere Erkenntnisse erbringt als am Mainstream-Science-Weg direkt erzielbar. Naturgemäß ist dabei der Mainstream immer auch Pflicht und Basis, d.h. der alltägliche Partner-, Mess- und Interaktionsplatz.

Erreicht INSO diesen Anspruch immer, in jeder Gruppe, zu jeden Zeitpunkt? Nein! Das hängt auch an Zyklen, Themen, Personen und wissenschaftlicher Fortune. INSO betreibt zwei Klassen an Forschungsgruppen. Jene, deren Empirie stark in der Informations-Technologie liegt (die technische Säule) und jene, deren Empirie in der Anwendungs- und Fachdomäne liegt. Auf den wissenschaftstheoretischen Diskurs, ob unsere Erfahrungen mit dem „technologischen Blending“ oder der „fachlich-technischen Legierungen“ methodisch authentisch sind und nützlich sind, freuen wir uns jederzeit und stehen für einen Austausch gerne zur Verfügung.

Hintergrund, Geschichte, Zukunft

Die Forschungsgruppe INSO wurde von Professor Grechenig 2004 gegründet und wuchs aus einer Forschungsgruppe der TU Wien mit dem Namen RISE, deren Tätigkeit zurückreicht in die 90er Jahre. Die RISE ist heute ein unabhängiger, erfolgreicher Digital-Technologie-Hersteller am europäischen und globalen Markt, der die Forschungsgemeinschaft INSO seit der Gründung wirtschaftlich in Aufbau und Betrieb unterstützt und ihr so eine Kontinuität verleiht, die über die persönlichen Aktivitäts-möglichkeiten der Person des Gründers hinausreichen wird. INSO sieht sich als Antreiber der digitalen Selbstständigkeit Europas, die selbstverständlich auf globaler Spitzenforschung aufbaut und global führende digitale Technologie hervorzubringen in der Lage ist.